LP5: Good Better Best

NYC

(Bautista, Personal Photograph of Prometheus, NYC Rockefeller Center, 2003)

From Maya Angelou:

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

What more is there to say.

When I was deep in social media usage, I started to feel myself slipping into self-absorbed oblivion and not being present in the moment with others.  I was using my creativity to come up with clever quips or comments rather than channel the energy into my daily thoughts or teachings.  I wasn’t paying attention to the way I made people feel.

As of late, I am trying to live in the moment.  I am trying to show people how I feel when I am with them.  I want them to feel important and relevant and acknowledged for the moment we share, the moment we are in.  I am not sure it’s working all of the time but I am trying.

I am trying to listen to people tell their stories and that’s all.  Just listening.

And most of the time, all someone needs is a kind ear.

 

 

