LP30: It all started with Hemingway

Scan0002

(Bautista, a personal photograph of the Hotel Ambos Mundos, Havana Cuba, June 1996)

One of my all-time favourite books is The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway.  It was an amazing surprise to learn that Hemingway wrote on the 5th floor of the Hotel Ambos Mundos whilst on a tour of Havana in June 1996 – it was my first trip alone, on my own and I remembered feeling much peace.  Solitude. It was also the first time I journalled during that trip – I still have that journal – I read it from time to time – so interesting to see how lost I was. It’s will be 20 years since making that trip come next year and in that amount of time, not only am I a different person,  I am well on my way to feeling like I found something – me. I will be travelling again on my own quite soon – I look forward to more unexpected joys and discoveries. I also look forward to more writing.

