LP34: I Come From Toronto

TDOT(Bautista, A personal photograph of the Toronto sign, Nathan Philips Square, Toronto, ON, 07-18-2015)

The fact that over 50 per cent of the residents of Toronto are not from Canada, that is always a good thing, creatively, and for food especially. That is easily a city’s biggest strength, and it is Toronto’s unique strength.

—Anthony Bourdain

The PanAm games 2015 is quite the sight to see when you really take time to look around Nathan Philips Square on a humid July evening absorbing the frenetic energy and sensing the flows of human interaction- crowds of people (polite Canadians), languages galore, food smells, live music, ballet, DJs, bands, churros, ice cream, hero burgers and fries, French, Spanish, Middle Eastern, hipsters, rockers, kids, teens, retirees, great friends and at least one itinerant teacher – all of us and more in a diverse smorgasbord of awesomeness. Toronto is where I from – it was my home, where I grew up and its thrilling pulsations live within the fibres of my being.  I realized this week though that it will probably not be my home for the next years of my life.  I like to see Toronto from time to time and re-energize my spirit.  It’s not my future though but it is a necessary touchstone. I am ready to continue my journey – I am ready to build a new home.  I made a choice this week that will change the course of my life.​
